starting in the middle

margo halverson

Buckeroo Banzai and Pinballs

There’s a scene in this [great] 8o’s movie where Peter Weller, Buckeroo, hears a woman crying as he’s onstage playing with his band The Hong Kong Cavaliers. He asks for a spotlight on her and talks to her from the stage. After hearing Penny Pretty’s (Ellen Barkin) sad story there are some shuffled laughs. Buckeroo says “Hey hey now, don’t be mean. We don’t have to be mean, because remember: no matter where you go, there you are.”

Moments ago I heard the Beatles Norwegian Wood play on the car radio. My brother played and sang that song at Charles and my wedding 19 years ago. I’d asked him to do the music, we didn’t really talk any specifics, so: Norwegian Wood’s beautiful acoustic guitar melody by Bill and and his gentle voice …so I lit a fire, isn’t it good, norwegian wood?

Interesting choice for a wedding, the surrealistic lyrics of sleeping in a bath, maybe a story connected to drugs and relationships on the fly, who knows, who cares. But I was brought right back to Bill. It’s been 8 years since he passed away and hearing that song as I pulled over and stared ahead, a wave of something I tried to identify lasted the 3 or so minutes. Like a movie montage—his bands in his garage, our wedding, his illness, wondering how Kay is doing, Jack and Cora’s music he won’t hear, the music they can’t share with him, the guitar they play was given to me by him when he was a studio rock musician in Hollywood, I was still in highschool… Endless, the brain’s chunks of pinball bouncing, searching to land somewhere.

Buckeroo’s “Remember: No Matter Where You Go, There You Are” became a bit of a mantra in my circle of friends back when we saw the movie (2, 3 times in a row) in the Valley Art in Tempe, AZ. We were grad students in art trying to lighten up, or the opposite. I still love it. I was reminded of Buckeroo’s 8th dimension today.

A pile-up of it-doesn’t-matter pinball-searching scorching-experience. Onward.

IMG_5197

One comment on “Buckeroo Banzai and Pinballs

  1. Madelaine
    December 11, 2016

    Having read this I believed it was very informative.
    I appreciate you spending some time and effort
    to put this informative article together. I once again find myself personally spending way too much time both reading and posting comments.
    But so what, it was still worthwhile!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 31, 2014 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

My Instagram

Have a great break @mecagd Juniors and Seniors! Thursday's reviews were evidence of a great semester of learning and hard work. Thank you critics and faculty for your support and attention. 
#mecagd #mymecawork #artschool #graphicdesign #mainecollegeofart Lotsa feet #mainer #llbean 1980? Hudson. Poodle #1. (And this was a self-portrait, not a selfie.) Probs during my MFA in photography. #analogphotography #leicacl I bet they don't know I screen shot this and now a yearish later snooping around in my photo files it still makes me happy. (Thank you #mecagd alums -now -colleagues for the text then and surprise again today!) Especially as we wrap up an intense semester of teaching and learning. It's always about the people and the creative curiously that keeps us going and thankful. Thank you again. Tired #archiepoodle contemplates the aardvark. Forgotten, Look, Disruption, Anxiety.
 #mecagd 101 : 4 examples of a middle of the semester word image project. (I hope the designers forgive my Insta cropping and sequence.) Beautiful last class work today at final critiques.
Follow more work and life @mecagd

Enter your email address to follow -starting in the middle- and receive notifications of new posts by email.

