starting in the middle

margo halverson

Wonderings and Wanderings

img_1586

I went to last summer’s DesignInquiry two week residency with the intention of working exclusively on an eleventh anniversary DesignInquiry book temporarily titled a Provisional Edition Survey of Now along with four other DesignInquirers. Peter Hall remained in London so he and I devised a daily back and forth image/caption volley for the book via spotty text message since I had no internet.  Co-authors Gail Swanlund was on Vinalhaven for only a few days and Emily Luce left after week one so Gabrielle Esperdy and I needed heads down for the book. And since we were conceptualizing, designing, and writing as we went, procrastination became the side project I excelled at once Matt Soar arrived week two and showed me his lo-fi Camera Box.

This phone camera apparatus and the muscle memory of my Rolleiflex days took over the island days and supported the residency theme of Productive Counter-Production. Combined with a four month old puppy and sunny 72degree afternoons, finding out what this camera obscura could do began as inbetween-time but quickly shifted to the time. I set up still lives to reflect the making, the light, and the spirit of our collective concentration of slow pacing and island living. I walked, poked around, looked and meandered with photographing. Like the days of a ‘real’ camera, my past life of image making met the present because I was available. Some of these images even found their way perfectly into the book.

Matt left with his camera box and I left with Wonderings and Wanderings that existed in the shadows of productive counter-production.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 8, 2017 by .

My Instagram

Repost from @8dot5x11 #di_otherwise  #designinquiry #development @designinquiry #DesignInquiry #designinquiry17 #otherwise commences! A bakers dozen gather to explore and work towards unknowing, unmaking and unmasking other/wise @designinquiry @designinquiry OTHER/WISE begins. Rocking ferry 🤢 Repost from @cornfrickindog goodbye sibling c u in aug - Well put Cora, I'm missing the boy but he's moving into his first apartment as I type. Quantum Physics at CAL here he comes! (Miss you @melcherman) 🤺💫🚀😘 June 15 #archiepoodle Short annual before-school hike. Since 4th grade Jack and I've done this. He leaves for Berkeley tomorrow. 👣👣🐩

Enter your email address to follow -starting in the middle- and receive notifications of new posts by email.

